Stay Updated

We're excited to keep you in the loop on all things Frameline (with no spam - ever!)

Festival Awards

Frameline presents multiple awards during the annual Festival. Most awards are handed out onstage on the final in-person day of the Festival.

Comcast Audience Awards

Since 1984, our audience has been responsible for selecting the Audience Awards for Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature — as well as audience prizes for short films and episodics at different points in the Festival history. This year, the Comcast Audience Awards will be given to a Narrative Feature and a Documentary Feature.

Click here to see all the past Frameline Audience Award winners.

Outstanding First Feature Award

For over 20 years, Frameline has presented the annual juried Outstanding First Feature Award to a notable narrative feature from an emerging voice in LGBTQ+ cinema. Since 2020, Frameline is proud to partner with the San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle to jury this award.

  • First Narrative Feature Award ($2,500): National Anthem, directed by Luke Gilford

Jury Awards

Italian Cultural Institute of San Francisco's Franca Cavallaro accepting the award on behalf of director Chloé Barreau, photo by Pat Mazzera
  • Outstanding Documentary Feature ($2,500): Fragments of a Life Loved (Frammenti di un percorso amoroso), directed by Chloé Barreau
  • Outstanding Narrative Short ($750): Paradise Europe (Du Bist so Wunderbar), directed by Leandro Goddinho & Paulo Menezes
  • Outstanding Documentary Short ($750): Seat 31: Zooey Zephyr, directed by Kimberly Reed

Click here to see all the past Frameline Juried Award Winners.

Out in the Silence Award

©Barak Shrama

The Out in the Silence Award is an annual honor conferred to an outstanding film project that highlights brave acts of visibility, especially in places where such acts are rare and unexpected because of the dominant systems that make it difficult for LGBTQ+ people to live authentic lives.

The Out in the Silence Award is generously underwritten by longtime film community members Dean Hamer and Joe Wilson.

Out in the Silence Award ($5,000): Any Other Way: The Jackie Shane Story, directed by Michael Mabbott & Lucah Rosenberg-Lee

The Colin Higgins Youth Filmmaker Grants

Leaf Lieber & Farah Jabir with Frameline's Allegra Madsen & Nguyen Pham, Photo by Pat Mazzera

The Colin Higgins Youth Filmmaker Grants are awards presented by Frameline centered on providing LGBTQ+ youth filmmakers with financial support to continue their work. Eligible applicants must be LGBTQ+ filmmakers under the age of 25 who currently reside in the United States.

Up to three cash prizes of $15,000 each will be awarded in conjunction with the Frameline Film Festival. Frameline will curate up to 10 short films, from which the Colin Higgins Foundation (CHF) Board will select up to three grantees.

The Frameline48 grantees are:

Iris Prize Partner Festival

Frameline is one of the partner festivals for the Iris Prize in the United Kingdom. Each year, Frameline nominates one short film for the annual Iris Prize, one of the top LGBTQ+ film honors in the world. The Iris Prize for short film comes with a £30,000 cash prize — the largest cash prize for shorts in the world. Dee Rees’ Pariah, a Frameline Completion Fund recipient, was the inaugural Iris Prize winner for shorts in 2007.

Copyright 2022 Frameline. All rights reservedSite by ED.

Stay Updated

We're excited to keep you in the loop on all things Frameline (with no spam - ever!)