Disclosure (Panel Only)

Director: Sam Feder
2020 | USA | 100m
Expected Guests: Executive Producer Laverne Cox, Director Sam Feder, and featured talent Jen Richards, Brian Michael Smith, Tiq Milan, Candis Cayne, Zeke Smith, Zackary Drucker, and more to be announced.


Other Ways to Watch:

And if you haven't already, Watch DISCLOSURE on Netflix before the discussion!

FRAMELINE, INSIDE OUT, NEWFEST and OUTFEST LGBTQ Film Festivals are debuting the first ever queer film festival alliance - NAQFA (the North American Queer Festival Alliance) - with the online Pride event celebrating the release of the Netflix original documentary DISCLOSURE.

DISCLOSURE is an unprecedented, eye-opening look at transgender depictions in film and television, revealing how Hollywood simultaneously reflects and manufactures our deepest anxieties about gender. Leading trans thinkers and creatives, including Laverne Cox, Lilly Wachowski, Yance Ford, Mj Rodriguez, Jamie Clayton, and Chaz Bono, share their reactions and resistance to some of Hollywood’s most beloved moments.

Grappling with films like A Florida Enchantment (1914), Dog Day Afternoon, The Crying Game, and Boys Don’t Cry, and with shows like The Jeffersons, The L-Word, and Pose, they trace a history that is at once dehumanizing, yet also evolving, complex, and sometimes humorous. What emerges is a fascinating story of dynamic interplay between trans representation on screen, society’s beliefs, and the reality of trans lives. Reframing familiar scenes and iconic characters in a new light, director Sam Feder invites viewers to confront unexamined assumptions, and shows how what once captured the American imagination now elicits new feelings. DISCLOSURE provokes a startling revolution in how we see and understand trans people.

Viewing Details:

  • Watch DISCLOSURE beforehand on Netflix, starting June 19.
  • Join us for the panel on Wednesday June 24, 2020 6PM PDT.
  • Panel will be free, and accessible globally. 

Presented with the North American Queer Film Festival Alliance. Founding members include Frameline, Inside Out, NewFest, and Outfest.