First Feature Award

For over 20 years, Frameline has presented the annual juried First Feature Award to a notable narrative feature from an emerging voice in LGBTQ+ cinema. Previous groundbreaking winners have included Something Must Break (dir Ester Martin Bergsmark), Head On (dir Ana Kokkinos), Facing Mirrors (dir Negar Azarbayjani), Undertow (dir Javier Fuentes-León), and Hedwig and the Angry Inch (dir John Cameron Mitchell). Since 2020, Frameline is proud to partner with the San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle to jury this award.

This year's eligible first features:

Boy Meets Boy
, dir Daniel Levithan
, dir Peeter Rebane
The Greenhouse
, dir Thomas Wilson-White
Jump, Darling
, dir Phil Connell
Language Lessons,
dir Natalie Morales
Ma Belle, My Beauty
, dir Marion Hill
, dir Jose Enrique Tiglao
, dir Morgan Ingari
, dir Eline Gehring
dir Marley Morrison
Walking with Shadows
, dir Aoife O'Kelly

Audience Awards

In another annual award tradition, Frameline audiences can weigh in on their favorites of the festival by voting for our Audience Awards.

How to vote:

Vote for the Audience Award by using the star rating system on (not available on TV apps).

Drive-In or Theatrical Screenings:
Please refer to the text voting instructions which will appear on the screen directly following the film.

Last year's AT&T Audience Award Winners:

Max Currie’s RÅ«rangi for Narrative Feature Film, Patrick Sammon and Bennett Singer’s Cured for Documentary Feature, and Jett Garrison’s These Thems: Episode 1 for Short Film.