Festival Awards

2016 Frameline Award Recipient Bob Hawk

The Frameline41 AT&T Audience Awards

Since 1984 our audience has been responsible for selecting the Best Feature FilmBest Documentary Film and Best Short Film of the Festival. Putting the power in the audience's hands, the Frameline41 AT&T Audience Awards offer cash prizes to the favorite Feature ($1000), Documentary ($1000) and Short ($500) in the festival. Audience members will be able to vote via text message from any text-enabled mobile device. 

If you love a film, simply text the film's voting code to 55333 within six hours of the start of the screening. To find the film's voting code, look on-screen after the show, visit the film's Frameline41 online description or ask a staff member or a volunteer. And remember: you get just one vote per film per mobile device. Standard messaging rates may apply (a small price to pay to support LGBTQ filmmakers).

Frameline's Juried Awards

Frameline has a long history of supporting outstanding films and filmmakers, and we continue that tradition with our juried awards for First Feature and Best Documentary of Frameline41!

The Frameline Award

Established in 1986, the Frameline Award is given every year to a person or entity that has made a major contribution to LGBTQ representation in film, television, or the media arts. Past honorees range from film historian and author Vito Russo, to Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, avant-garde lesbian filmmaker Barbara Hammer, drag artiste extraordinaire Divine, actor-activist George Takei, producer Christine Vachon, long-time leader of the Festival and the organization Michael Lumpkin, and producer/distributor Marcus Hu. 

This year, Frameline's Board and Staff are proud to present the Frameline Award to Alan Cumming

Designed to honor those who have "made a major contribution to LGBTQ representation in film, television or the media arts", The Frameline Award has been given at each festival since 1986 to: 

1986 Vito Russo

1987 Alexandra von Grote

1988 Divine

1989 Cinevista/Promovision

1990 Robert Epstein

1991 Elfi Mikesh

1992 Marlon Riggs

1993 Pratibha Parmar

1994 Christine Vachon

1995 Marcus Hu

1996 Peter Adair

1997 Channel Four Television

1998 Dolly Hall

1999 Stanley Kwan

2000 Barbara Hammer

2001 The Festival's Founders

2002 Isaac Julien

2003 Fenton Bailey & Randy Barbato

2004 Rose Troche

2005 Gregg Araki

2006 Francois Ozon

2007 Andrea Sperling

2008 Michael Lumpkin

2009 George & Mike Kuchar

2010 Wolfe Video

2011 Margaret Cho

2012 B. Ruby Rich

2013 Jamie Babbit

2014 George Takei

2015 Jeffrey Schwarz

2016 Robert Hawk

2017 Alan Cumming