Frameline Award

    Established in 1986, the Frameline Award is given every year to a person or entity that has made a major contribution to LGBTQ representation in film, television, or the media arts. Past honorees range from film historian and author Vito Russo, to Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, avant-garde lesbian filmmaker Barbara Hammer, drag artiste extraordinaire Divine, actor-activist George Takei, producer Christine Vachon, long-time leader of the Festival and the organization Michael Lumpkin, and producer/distributor Marcus Hu.

    Past Winners:

    2019 Rodney Evans

    2018 Debra Chasnoff

    2017 Alan Cumming

    2016 Robert Hawk

    2015 Jeffrey Schwarz

    2014 George Takei

    2013 Jamie Babbit

    2012 B. Ruby Rich

    2011 Margaret Cho

    2010 Wolfe Video

    2009 George & Mike Kuchar

    2008 Michael Lumpkin

    2007 Andrea Sperling

    2006 Francois Ozon

    2005 Gregg Araki

    2004 Rose Troche

    2003 Fenton Bailey & Randy Barbato

    2002 Isaac Julien

    2001 The Festival’s Founders

    2000 Barbara Hammer

    1999 Stanley Kwan

    1998 Dolly Hall

    1997 Channel Four Television

    1996 Peter Adair

    1995 Marcus Hu

    1994 Christine Vachon

    1993 Pratibha Parmar

    1992 Marlon Riggs

    1991 Elfi Mikesh

    1990 Robert Epstein

    1989 Cinevista/Promovision

    1988 Divine

    1987 Alexandra von Grote

    1986 Vito Russo

    Copyright 2022 Frameline. All rights reservedSite by ED.

    Stay updated

    We're excited to keep you in the loop on all things Frameline (with no spam - ever!)