Frameline Award Winners

Winners of the Frameline Award

Frameline Award

Established in 1986, the Frameline Award is given every year to a person or entity that has made a major contribution to LGBTQ representation in film, television, or the media arts. Past honorees range from film historian and author Vito Russo, to Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, avant-garde lesbian filmmaker Barbara Hammer, drag artiste extraordinaire Divine, actor-activist George Takei, producer Christine Vachon, long-time leader of the Festival and the organization Michael Lumpkin, and producer/distributor Marcus Hu.

Past Winners: 

2019 Rodney Evans

2018 Debra Chasnoff

2017 Alan Cumming

2016 Robert Hawk

2015 Jeffrey Schwarz

2014 George Takei

2013 Jamie Babbit

2012 B. Ruby Rich

2011 Margaret Cho

2010 Wolfe Video

2009 George & Mike Kuchar

2008 Michael Lumpkin

2007 Andrea Sperling

2006 Francois Ozon

2005 Gregg Araki

2004 Rose Troche

2003 Fenton Bailey & Randy Barbato

2002 Isaac Julien

2001 The Festival's Founders

2000 Barbara Hammer

1999 Stanley Kwan

1998 Dolly Hall

1997 Channel Four Television

1996 Peter Adair

1995 Marcus Hu

1994 Christine Vachon

1993 Pratibha Parmar

1992 Marlon Riggs

1991 Elfi Mikesh

1990 Robert Epstein

1989 Cinevista/Promovision

1988 Divine

1987 Alexandra von Grote

1986 Vito Russo