Festival Award Winners

Frameline Festival Awards

Audience Award Winners

Since 1984 our audience has been responsible for selecting the Best Feature FilmBest Documentary Film and Best Short Film of the Festival. Starting in 2018, we also introduced the Best Episodic category.

Past Frameline Audience Award Winners

Juried Awards: First Feature Award and Best Documentary

Established in 1999, the Juried Awards for First Feature and Best Documentary have recognized outstanding films and filmmakers.

Past Frameline Juried Award Winners

Frameline Award

Established in 1986, the Frameline Award is given every year to a person or entity that has made a major contribution to LGBTQ representation in film, television, or the media arts. Past honorees range from film historian and author Vito Russo, to Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, avant-garde lesbian filmmaker Barbara Hammer, drag artiste extraordinaire Divine, actor-activist George Takei, producer Christine Vachon, long-time leader of the Festival and the organization Michael Lumpkin, and producer/distributor Marcus Hu.

Past Frameline Award Winners